Eating halal food is compulsory for Muslims. Allah has stated in Al – Quran,

“Eat of the good, lawful things provided to you by Allah. And be mindful of Allah in Whom you believe.”

 (Surah Al – Maidah: 88)

Discovering halal food is not restricted to the halal logo on the packaging or the premise but also to its cleanliness. A Muslim also needs to understand the process of making the food and the ingredient themselves. There 5 types of food that are prohibited from consuming in Islam which are corpses, blood, pig and dog, animals that are not being slaughtered in accordance to Islamic practice and animals with sharp teeth or tusks.

  1. Corpse

According to Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, the corpse is referred to the animal or human body, whether living or dead. In Islam, eating corpses is forbidden because Muslims are required to eat healthy and clean food to avoid sickness.

Animals dead without being slaughtered per Islamic practice, whether their death is caused by accident, would be considered prohibited food to consume. The condition that would lead to the accident death may cause by the crash and abuse.

Some dead animals, such as fish, shrimp, and squid, can be consumed. This animal is not considered a corpse after death; it is halal to eat without being slaughtered. This matter is referred from Ibnu Umar R. Anhuma, where Prophet Muhammad said, “Two types of carcasses are permitted for us, namely fish and grasshoppers.” Narration of Ibn Majah (3218)

  • Blood

Islam also forbids its followers from eating raw and bloody food. In Islamic teachings, blood refers to a light impurity (najis mutawasitah) that must be removed when cleaning or cooking before use or eating.

In addition, the way of cooking can also affect a dish, and it is necessary to follow the rules of Shariah that are determined so that the food is not in doubt. However, meat that has been cleaned and blood attached to it is still halal to eat. This includes the liver and spleen of animals.

  • Pigs and Dogs

Pig and dogs are categorised as heavy or extreme impurity (Mughallazah), and sertu is required if a Muslim accidentally touch them. There are a few reasons pigs are forbidden to eat scientifically, which is technical, pigs are animals that like eating dirty food, and najis –are not healthy and are dangerous to consume.

  • The animal slaughtered not following Islamic Law

Animals intended for human consumption must be slaughtered according to Islamic law in a specific way. The sole method permitted for Muslim consumers and one of the more humane ones accessible to the meat business is halal slaughter. Any animal slaughter not per Islamic Law is forbidden to eat.

The Islamic faith firmly endorses the humane slaughter of animals. According to Sahih Muslim Book 21, Chapter 11, Number 4810, Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) said,

“Verily Allah has enjoined goodness to everything; so when you kill, kill in a good way, and when you slaughter, slaughter in a good way. So every one of you should sharpen his knife and let the slaughtered animal die comfortably.”

  • Animals with sharp teeth or tusks

“Such animals are dogs, pigs, wolves, bears, cats, and ibn awi (ابن آوی), which is a type of animal that is slightly larger than a fox and smaller than a dog and has long claws. In addition, elephants, lions, tigers, monkeys, and the like are forbidden to eat.”

(Refer to Kitab al-Fiqh al-Manhaji, 1/499)

Birds that are forbidden to eat are those that have strong claws and can injure, such as vultures (النسر), all types of eagles, namely saqr (الصقر), baz (الباز), syahin(الشاهين) and eagles (العقاب).

From Ibn Abbas R. Anhuma, he said:

“The Messenger of Allah (PBUH) forbade eating every wild animal with fangs and every kind of bird that has claws for grasping.”

Riwayat Muslim (1934) dan Abu Daud (3803)

  • The pesticides and poisonous animal

All circumcised animals are required to kill and are forbidden to eat comes under these categories. Snakes, scorpions, crows, eagles, rats, and all harmful animals are forbidden to eat by a Muslim. Those animals and anything alike are forbidden to eat whether they are considered good by the Arabs or not. This is because the Hadith has condemned circumcision to be killed and most of them disgust the Arabs.

(Refer to Kitab al-Fiqh al-Manhaji, 1/500)

From Aishah R. Anha, the Prophet SAW said:

“All five kinds of animals are wicked, which can be killed even in the Haram Land, namely the crow, the eagle, the scorpion, the rat, and the ferocious dog.”

Riwayat al-Bukhari (1732) dan Muslim (1198)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *